Just another WordPress.com site

New Bar!

IMG_1726

 

It’s a blog, it’s a blog, my gosh they’ve written a blog….

 

Yes I know it’s been a long time, as we were reminded! Thanks Jen, and sorry.

It’s been winter and there really hasn’t been much to report to you all. Maz has been on light duties after her shoulder Op. That’s all recovered and she is back to normal duties, thankfully. Being in the office was driving her stir crazy and in turn driving me mad.. She still has to be ever so slightly careful with the shoulder, but the pain regulates her.

While she was on light duties, Stuey took her out on his boat to Dutton Bay about 40 mins up the road, they had a really lovely day, the sun was shining and they bagged out on fish, Maz said she caught the most out of the 3 of them. While they were out in the boat going out to their destination some Dolphins came along and swam with the boat. Maz managed to get some of it on video, which is now on Flickr.

 

While Maz was bored in the office she was looking on Guntree and found a really nice Bar!! So anyway we weren’t even thinking of getting one, but we went and had a look at it, as it was only around the corner and yes you guessed it, we bought it and it is now sitting very nicely in the corner of our shed. It really does go well in there, the neighbours have called it Tiatukia Tavern! Which we kind of like.

 

We’ve been up on the block a bit gradually doing bits and bobs, we planted the trees we had at the house, including the lemon tree that I got when Mum was here, we have cut a lot of the grass and have been moving some huge rocks around to try and stop the slippage we had during the winter, we don’t want anymore of that happening. One of the guys at work gave us some yukka type trees that he cut down, I stuck them in water and we have planted them, so fingers crossed that they all survive and it will start looking good up the block. We have spent a few nights in the shed with the fire going, playing pool and propping up the bar, which has been nice. The only problem is that work tends to get in the way all the time.

 

Maz was doing the coaching for our hockey team for the year and now the season has just come to an end trophies have been awarded etc and the team decided to get Maz a trophy for best coach, which was really nice of them as Maz doesn’t really have much experience and found it hard at times, but the team said she made training fun which in turn made them want to train. They also made her a card to say thank you and got her a T-shirt with a team photo on it, so she is chuffed with all that. I think they are hoping she will coach next season too.

 

Maz is also back running again but she still has some problems with her calf occasionally. My knee that I smashed back in December at work still keeps playing me up, when were planting trees etc I stamped one in and my knee just gave way on me and I fell in a heap on the floor, nearly crushing the yukka at the same time.

 

We have Ben and Eve’s wedding to go to in October which is in the Borossa valley wine region which will be nice, although it will be a flying visit for us, Maz has court on the Friday, as soon as she finishes we have to drive 7 hours to get there, wedding Sat then drive back for night duty on Sunday night. We have no ides what we are going to wear yet either!

 

Maz has given the boat a good clean out ready for the summer. Still no further development on the house front, the builder is just starting to draw our plans out.

I think that is about all I can come up with at the moment, sorry It’s a short one. We are nights at the moment and a bit spaced out!

Anyway lots of love to you all. Miss everyone, take care xxxx

Love Maz, Tina, Buzz and Scrappy xxxx

Comments on: "New Bar!" (3)

  1. Jenny said:

    How psychic are we? I had just gone onto my computer when the ‘blog alert’ popped up! I thought to myself “a blog, a blog they’ve done a blog”, then read it and what was the first sentence?
    Anyway, thank you for that! Even mundane stuff for you is entertaining for us, so it’s always lovely to have a blog. Love the bar! Glad your injuries aren’t holding either of you back too much – but be careful!
    I look forward to more blogs now the summer (and house) is coming. Off to Flickr now, thanks again. Love you both xx

  2. Woah, the bar and pool setup is fantastic! It reminds me of our pool club trips where I would inevitably end up with chalk on my face! Great job getting through the light-duties, sis, I can only imagine what a pain it (/you) was(/were)! Lots of love, Steve

  3. Eileen Bortey said:

    Thank you sooooo much for the update been checking every day but I didn’t expect a BAR!!!! Mind you I suppose it’s not really a surprise

    Glad the shoulder is nearly there Maz and Tina, is the knee improving at all?

    We can’t wait to see the house plans finalised, it’s all very exciting.

    Love and miss you so very much, been clearing the loft Maz and found your baby clothes, christening and prom dresses. Ah the memories xxx

Leave a comment